Pro
USD10
per user per month
Best for: Individual developers
- Unlimited completions
- 1,500 AI Credits a month (1,000 base plus 500 flex)
- code review and cloud agent
Home / Pricing guides / AI Coding Assistant / GitHub Copilot
Pricing guide, AI Coding Assistant
Every Copilot plan in plain numbers, how AI Credits changed the bill in June 2026, and what 50 developers pay.
The short answer
GitHub Copilot Pro costs USD 10 a month, Pro+ USD 39 and Max USD 100, while Business costs USD 19 and Enterprise USD 39 per granted seat per month, with a free plan. A 50-developer team pays USD 11,400 a year on Business at list price, before AI Credit overage at USD 0.01 per credit.
Written by Procurement VMS Editorial Team · Reviewed by Michael, Procurement Advisor Expert · Price data dated · 10 minute read
GitHub Copilot used to be a simple per-seat line item. Since June 2026, every plan includes a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits, and chat, agent and code review work draws it down at model API rates. Completions are still unlimited, but agent-heavy teams now have a usage bill too.
This guide prices every Copilot plan from GitHub's official plans page and docs. Platform pricing for GitHub itself is covered in the separate GitHub guide.
Prices below were recorded on 12 October 2026. The headline figure is the lowest price you can get for that plan. Check the official page before you buy, because vendors change prices without notice.
USD10
per user per month
Best for: Individual developers
USD39
per user per month
Best for: Individual developers who use agents heavily
USD19
per user per month
Best for: Companies rolling Copilot out to a team
USD39
per user per month
Best for: GitHub Enterprise Cloud customers
How billing works
Business and Enterprise are billed per granted seat per month, and Pro, Pro+ and Max are billed per person. Since 1 June 2026, each plan includes a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits. Chat, agent and code review usage consumes them at model API rates, while inline completions and next edit suggestions stay unlimited on paid plans. Usage beyond the allowance costs USD 0.01 per credit and is billed only if a spending budget is set, otherwise Copilot pauses until the next cycle. Copilot code review on private repositories also consumes GitHub Actions minutes.
The tier trap
Copilot Enterprise doubles the seat price from USD 19 to USD 39 and runs only on GitHub Enterprise Cloud, so a team on GitHub Team also pays for the platform upgrade. For 50 developers that is USD 36,000 a year against USD 11,400 on Business.
Read this first. Pro, Pro+ and Max prices and credit allowances were read on github.com/features/copilot/plans and GitHub Docs on 12 October 2026. The plans page does not show Business (USD 19) or Enterprise (USD 39) prices, and those come from GitHub Docs. Annual prices are not published under the AI Credit model, since annual Pro subscribers stayed on premium request plans until expiry, and no trial terms are published. GitHub Enterprise Cloud at USD 21 per user is the first-12-month price from the GitHub guide. The June 2026 history items come from GitHub changelog entries, so open the changelog pages to confirm wording. The Vendr benchmark is a discount range, not a per-seat price.
Move the slider to see what each plan costs at your size. The figures use the list prices on this page and leave out tax, add-ons and any discount you negotiate.
Fifty developers shows what extra AI Credits and the Enterprise upgrade add to the Business base.
| Scenario | Cost per year | Against the headline |
|---|---|---|
| Copilot Business, list price (50 developers) | USD11,400 | Headline price |
| Business plus 1,000 extra AI Credits per developer a month (50 developers) | USD17,400 | +USD 6,000 |
| Copilot Enterprise plus GitHub Enterprise Cloud at USD 21 (50 developers) | USD36,000 | +USD 24,600 |
Compare the plans side by side. Where a cell says Check page, the vendor's pricing page was not specific enough for us to fill it in.
| Feature | Pro | Pro+ | Business | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price per user per month | USD 10 | USD 39 | USD 19 | USD 39 |
| AI Credits included per month | 1,500 | 7,000 | 1,900 per user | 3,900 per user |
| Third-party agent delegation | Check page | Check page | Not stated | Not stated |
Features we could not place by plan: Unlimited inline completions, Code review and cloud agent, License and policy management, IP indemnity, GitHub.com chat and codebase indexing, Requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud. Check the official page for which plan includes each one.
Pick it if you code occasionally and 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month are enough.
Pick it if you are one developer who wants unlimited completions and light agent use.
Pick it if you are one developer running agents daily and need 7,000 credits a month.
Pick it if the company buys Copilot for a team and needs policy control and IP indemnity.
Pick it if you already run GitHub Enterprise Cloud and want codebase indexing and a larger credit pool.
Our view
Copilot Business is solid value at USD 19 per seat for teams that write code every day, and completions alone often justify it. Enterprise earns its USD 39 only for companies already on GitHub Enterprise Cloud that will use codebase indexing. The new risk is overage, which needs a budget owner.
You may be overpaying if
Seats stay granted to developers who have not used Copilot in a month, you allow unlimited overage with no budget, or developers expense personal Pro+ plans on top of company Business seats.
Review Copilot activity monthly and remove seats from inactive developers.
Overage is billed only when a budget is set, so set one per team and review alerts at 75%, 90% and 100%.
Business covers policy control and IP indemnity at half the Enterprise price.
Vendr reports 10% to 20% combined savings when Copilot is negotiated with Enterprise Cloud.
Move expensed Pro and Pro+ plans into company Business seats.
Cursor Teams and Claude Team give you credible alternatives before renewal.
What other buyers report
Vendr reports buyers who bundle Copilot with GitHub Enterprise Cloud renewals often save 10% to 20%, and rollouts of 100 or more seats often secure 10% to 15% (February 2026). Source
Price changes we know of
Renewal email you can copy
Fill in the brackets and send it about 90 days before the renewal date. It works best next to your renewal tracker.
Subject: GitHub Copilot renewal on [renewal date] Hi [account manager], Our GitHub Copilot [plan] subscription renews on [renewal date]. Over the last 90 days, [active developers] of the [paid developers] we pay for used it. We would like to renew with [target developers] on a [term] term. Before we sign, please send: 1. The current list price and the price you are offering us, line by line. 2. The cap on any price increase at the next renewal. 3. The notice period if we want to cut developers or move to another plan. We are comparing this against [alternative] and plan to decide by [decision date]. If you can offer [target discount] percent off list, or a lower price for a longer term, we are ready to talk this week. Thank you, [name] [company]
Free PDF and Excel
A one page summary of every plan, plus an Excel model that adds up your own seat count.
If this vendor does not fit, these are the closest options and what they charge.
| Alternative | Starting price | Pick it when |
|---|---|---|
| Cursor | USD20 per month (Pro) or USD 40 per user (Teams) | You want an AI-first editor with agents built in Read our Cursor pricing guide |
| Claude | USD20 per standard seat per month (Team, annual), includes Claude Code | You want a terminal coding agent plus an assistant for non-developers Read our Claude pricing guide |
| OpenAI API | From USD 0.10 per 1M input tokens (GPT-6 Luna) | You build your own internal coding tools on raw model access Read our OpenAI API pricing guide |
Coding assistants spread by developer, one expensed subscription at a time. With usage-based credits added, the seat count and the credit spend now need separate owners.
Bottom line. Start on Business, grant seats to developers who use them, and set a credit budget before anyone turns on overage. Move to Enterprise only if you already run Enterprise Cloud and will use codebase indexing.
Copilot Pro costs USD 10 a month, Pro+ USD 39 and Max USD 100 for individuals. Copilot Business costs USD 19 and Copilot Enterprise USD 39 per granted seat per month. Usage beyond the included AI Credits costs USD 0.01 per credit.
Yes, there is a Copilot Free plan limited to 2,000 code completions and 50 chat requests a month, with models chosen automatically. Verified students get Copilot Student at no cost, and some teachers and popular open source maintainers qualify for free Pro.
Copilot Enterprise costs USD 39 per granted seat per month and includes 3,900 AI Credits per user. It requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud, listed at USD 21 per user per month for the first 12 months, so 50 developers pay USD 36,000 a year for both.
AI Credits are Copilot's usage unit since 1 June 2026, worth USD 0.01 each. Chat, agent and code review work consumes them at model API rates. Pro includes 1,500 a month and Business 1,900 per user, and completions do not use credits.
GitHub publishes no annual discount under the AI Credit model, and plans are priced monthly. Existing annual Pro subscribers stayed on their premium request plan until it expired. Savings come from removing idle seats and capping overage.
Copilot Pro at USD 10 a month is already among the cheapest paid coding assistants. Cursor Pro costs USD 20 a month and Cursor Teams USD 40 per user. Claude Team includes Claude Code at USD 20 per standard seat on annual billing.
We start from the vendor pricing page and note the date. Where a figure comes from a third party instead, we say so on the page. Procurement VMS is a ratings and comparison site, not a software vendor, and nobody paid for a place in this guide. Spot a number that has changed? Tell us on the contact page and we will check it.
You get a one page PDF and an Excel model with your seat count, the plans above and a renewal checklist.
Choosing software instead of renewing? See the ranked procurement software list.