Skip to main content

New: the AI Shortlist. Describe your company and get matched products with the review evidence behind each one. Try it free

Procurement VMSProcurement software, honestly rated.

Home / Pricing guides / AI Model API / OpenAI API

Pricing guide, AI Model API

OpenAI API pricing in 2026: GPT-6 token costs and what a monthly bill looks like

Current OpenAI API token prices, the modes and tools that change them, and what one app processing 100M input tokens a month pays.

The short answer

The OpenAI API charges per million tokens: GPT-6 Luna costs USD 0.10 input and USD 0.50 output, GPT-6.1 Sol USD 2 and USD 10, and GPT-6 Astra USD 10 and USD 50. One app processing 100M input and 20M output tokens a month on GPT-6.1 Sol pays about USD 4,800 a year before caching or Batch discounts.

  • Cheapest current modelGPT-6 Luna at USD 0.10 per 1M input tokens and USD 0.50 output.
  • What most production apps useGPT-6.1 Sol at USD 2 input and USD 10 output per 1M tokens.
  • Biggest hidden costOutput tokens at 5x the input price, and Fast mode doubling GPT-6 rates.
  • Best way to saveRoute easy calls to Luna and send non-urgent work through Batch at 50% off.

Written by Procurement VMS Editorial Team · Reviewed by Michael, Procurement Advisor Expert · Price data dated · 10 minute read

OpenAI API plans and prices

The OpenAI API has no seats and no plans to compare. You pay for every token in and out, so the bill depends on which model engineers pick, how long prompts and answers run, and which processing mode and tools each call uses. That makes it easy to start and hard to forecast.

This guide prices the current GPT-6 lineup and GPT-5.5 from OpenAI's official developer pricing page. ChatGPT subscriptions are a separate product with their own guide.

Prices below were recorded on 12 October 2026. The headline figure is the lowest price you can get for that plan. Check the official page before you buy, because vendors change prices without notice.

GPT-6 Luna

USD0.10 in / USD 0.50 out

per 1M tokens

Billed monthly: USD0.10 in / USD 0.50 out

Best for: High-volume classification, extraction and routing

  • USD 0.10 input
  • USD 0.01 cached input
  • USD 0.50 output per 1M tokens
  • USD 0.05 and USD 0.25 on Batch
Most chosen

GPT-6.1 Sol

USD2 in / USD 10 out

per 1M tokens

Billed monthly: USD2 in / USD 10 out

Best for: Most production assistants and agents

  • USD 2 input
  • USD 0.10 cached input
  • USD 10 output per 1M tokens
  • USD 1 and USD 5 on Batch or Flex

GPT-5.5

USD5 in / USD 30 out

per 1M tokens

Billed monthly: USD5 in / USD 30 out

Best for: Apps already built and tested on GPT-5.5

  • USD 5 input
  • USD 0.50 cached input
  • USD 30 output per 1M tokens up to 272K input tokens
  • higher long-context rates

GPT-6 Astra

USD10 in / USD 50 out

per 1M tokens

Billed monthly: USD10 in / USD 50 out

Best for: The hardest reasoning and agent tasks

  • USD 10 input
  • USD 1 cached input
  • USD 50 output per 1M tokens
  • USD 5 and USD 25 on Batch or Flex

How billing works

OpenAI bills every request by tokens. Input, cached input and output each have their own per-million rate, and output costs 5x input on the GPT-6 models. The Batch API and Flex processing cut GPT-6 rates by 50% in exchange for slower turnaround, while Fast mode (called Priority processing until 30 July 2026) doubles them. Built-in tools are billed on top: web search is USD 10 per 1,000 calls plus content tokens, file search is USD 2.50 per 1,000 calls plus USD 0.10 per GB a day of storage after 1 GB free, and code containers start at USD 0.03 per 20-minute session. Regional data residency endpoints add 10% for eligible models released on or after 5 March 2026.

The tier trap

GPT-6 Astra costs 5x GPT-6.1 Sol on both input and output. Defaulting every call to the flagship, or switching on Fast mode for all traffic, multiplies the bill without changing a line of product scope.

Read this first. openai.com/api/pricing returned an error, so prices were read on OpenAI's developer pricing page on 12 October 2026. Third-party sources disagree on the GPT-6 Sol and GPT-5.6 Sol naming and on whether one rate is promotional, so this page uses the official table only. Long-context surcharges are confirmed for GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.4 (above 272K input tokens), and not confirmed for the GPT-6 family. The calculator uses input-token prices only, while the scenarios include output. The Zylo benchmark sample size is not stated. Model names change often, so recheck them before you buy.

OpenAI API cost calculator

Move the slider to see what each plan costs at your size. The figures use the list prices on this page and leave out tax, add-ons and any discount you negotiate.

What one app costs at 100M input and 20M output tokens a month

The API has no seats, so this table follows one app at 100M input and 20M output tokens a month through three model and mode choices.

Yearly cost scenarios for OpenAI API
ScenarioCost per yearAgainst the headline
GPT-6.1 Sol, 100M input and 20M output tokens a month (1 app)USD4,800Headline price
Same workload moved to GPT-6 Astra (1 app)USD24,000+USD 19,200
Same workload on GPT-6.1 Sol in Fast mode (1 app)USD9,600+USD 4,800

Where the bill grows

A token bill is shaped by choices engineers make in code. These are the ones that move it.

Output tokens

Output costs 5x input on GPT-6 models, so long answers and agent loops drive most of the bill.

Fast mode

Fast mode doubles GPT-6 token rates and costs 2.5x standard on GPT-5.5.

Built-in tool fees

Web search adds USD 10 per 1,000 calls plus content tokens, and file search adds USD 2.50 per 1,000 calls and storage.

Long-context rates

GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.4 bill higher rates once a request passes 272K input tokens.

Data residency uplift

Regional processing endpoints add 10% for eligible models released on or after 5 March 2026.

Code containers

Hosted shell and Code Interpreter sessions cost USD 0.03 to USD 1.92 per 20-minute session depending on memory.

What each OpenAI API plan includes

Compare the plans side by side. Where a cell says Check page, the vendor's pricing page was not specific enough for us to fill it in.

FeatureGPT-6 LunaGPT-6.1 SolGPT-5.5GPT-6 Astra
Input per 1M tokensUSD 0.10USD 2USD 5USD 10
Cached input per 1M tokensUSD 0.01USD 0.10USD 0.50USD 1
Output per 1M tokensUSD 0.50USD 10USD 30USD 50
Batch or Flex, input / outputUSD 0.05 / USD 0.25USD 1 / USD 5USD 2.50 / USD 15USD 5 / USD 25
Fast mode, input / outputUSD 0.20 / USD 1USD 4 / USD 20USD 12.50 / USD 75USD 20 / USD 100
Long-context surchargeNot statedNot statedAbove 272K input tokensNot stated

Which OpenAI API plan should you pick?

GPT-6 Luna

Pick it for high-volume, simple tasks like tagging, extraction and routing.

GPT-6.1 Sol

Pick it as the default for production assistants and agents.

GPT-5.5

Pick it only if your app is already tuned and evaluated on it.

GPT-6 Astra

Pick it for the hardest reasoning tasks where quality clearly beats the 5x price.

Our view

The OpenAI API is fair value when engineers match the model to the task. GPT-6.1 Sol covers most production work at a reasonable price, and Luna makes high-volume tasks almost free. It gets expensive when the flagship and Fast mode become defaults and nobody owns the monthly number.

You may be overpaying if

Every request goes to GPT-6 Astra, batch-friendly jobs run on standard rates, prompts are not structured for caching, or several teams run separate API organizations with no shared budget.

How to pay less for OpenAI API

  1. Route by task

    Send simple calls to GPT-6 Luna and keep Astra for the few tasks that need it.

  2. Use Batch and Flex

    Non-urgent jobs cost 50% less on Batch or Flex.

  3. Design for caching

    Cached input on GPT-6.1 Sol costs USD 0.10 per 1M tokens against USD 2 uncached.

  4. Keep Fast mode targeted

    Enable Fast mode only on latency-critical endpoints, since it doubles GPT-6 rates.

  5. Cap output length

    Output tokens cost 5x input, so set maximum output lengths and trim verbose responses.

  6. Set project budgets

    Give each team its own project and budget so spikes are caught in days and not at month end.

What other buyers report

Zylo reports organizations spend an average of USD 384,500 a year on the OpenAI API, based on its spend data as of April 2026. Source

Price changes we know of

  • 30 July 2026: OpenAI renamed Priority processing to Fast mode.

Renewal email you can copy

Fill in the brackets and send it about 90 days before the renewal date. It works best next to your renewal tracker.

Subject: OpenAI API renewal on [renewal date]

Hi [account manager],

Our OpenAI API [plan] subscription renews on [renewal date]. Over the last 90 days, [active million input tokens per month] of the [paid million input tokens per month] we pay for used it.

We would like to renew with [target million input tokens per month] on a [term] term. Before we sign, please send:
1. The current list price and the price you are offering us, line by line.
2. The cap on any price increase at the next renewal.
3. The notice period if we want to cut million input tokens per month or move to another plan.

We are comparing this against [alternative] and plan to decide by [decision date]. If you can offer [target discount] percent off list, or a lower price for a longer term, we are ready to talk this week.

Thank you,
[name]
[company]

Free PDF and Excel

OpenAI API pricing sheet and cost model

A one page summary of every plan, plus an Excel model that adds up your own seat count.

  • All plans and prices on one page
  • Excel model with your seat count and yearly cost
  • Renewal checklist and the email above, ready to edit
  • Date of the price data and the source links

OpenAI API alternatives and what they cost

If this vendor does not fit, these are the closest options and what they charge.

AlternativeStarting pricePick it when
Claude API (Anthropic)USD2 input / USD 10 output per 1M tokens (Sonnet 5.5)You want a comparable mid-tier model and also need a 50% Batch discount Read our Claude pricing guide
Gemini API (Google)USD0.30 input / USD 2.50 output per 1M tokens (Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite)You need a free tier for prototyping and cheap high-volume calls
ChatGPT BusinessUSD20 per standard seat per month (annual)Your team needs chat access, not an API to build on Read our ChatGPT pricing guide

Keeping OpenAI API spend under control

Token billing makes every engineer a purchaser. A prompt that grows, a retry loop or a new default model changes the invoice, and the person who wrote it rarely sees the number.

  • Set budgets and alerts. Usage bills grow without anyone signing anything. Set a monthly budget and an alert at 80 percent of it.
  • Tag cost to a team. Give every project an owner so a bill can be traced. Our spend management software guide covers the controls to look for.
  • Review commitments before renewal. Committed spend discounts only pay off if you use the commitment. Compare 12 months of real use with the plan before you renew, using a renewal tracker.
  • Count the full cost, not the list price. Support, egress, extra seats and add-ons change the real figure. Our total cost of ownership guide shows how to add it up.

Bottom line. Default to GPT-6.1 Sol, route simple work to Luna, keep Astra and Fast mode for the tasks that earn them, and push everything that can wait through Batch. Then give each project a budget and an owner.

OpenAI API pricing questions

How much does the OpenAI API cost?

The OpenAI API is pay as you go per million tokens. GPT-6 Luna costs USD 0.10 input and USD 0.50 output, GPT-6.1 Sol USD 2 and USD 10, GPT-5.5 USD 5 and USD 30, and GPT-6 Astra USD 10 and USD 50. Built-in tools are billed separately.

Is the OpenAI API free?

No. OpenAI's pricing page lists no free tier for the API, and every request is billed by tokens. Small free allowances exist only for items like the first 1 GB of file search storage, and the moderation model is free to use.

How much does GPT-6 Astra cost?

GPT-6 Astra costs USD 10 per 1M input tokens, USD 1 per 1M cached input tokens and USD 50 per 1M output tokens. Batch and Flex halve that to USD 5 and USD 25, while Fast mode doubles it to USD 20 and USD 100.

How much does the OpenAI Batch API save?

Batch cuts GPT-6 token prices by 50%. GPT-6.1 Sol drops from USD 2 input and USD 10 output to USD 1 and USD 5 per 1M tokens. It suits evaluations, backfills and other jobs that do not need an instant response.

Is there a discount for committing to OpenAI API spend?

OpenAI's pricing page publishes no annual or volume discount for the API. The published savings are Batch and Flex at 50% off and cached input at a fraction of the input price. Larger buyers can ask sales about committed volume.

What is the cheapest alternative to the OpenAI API?

Google's Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite costs USD 0.30 input and USD 2.50 output per 1M tokens and has a free tier. Anthropic's Claude Haiku 5.5 costs USD 0.10 and USD 0.50 for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, the same as GPT-6 Luna.

How we put this page together

We start from the vendor pricing page and note the date. Where a figure comes from a third party instead, we say so on the page. Procurement VMS is a ratings and comparison site, not a software vendor, and nobody paid for a place in this guide. Spot a number that has changed? Tell us on the contact page and we will check it.

Take the OpenAI API cost model to your renewal meeting

You get a one page PDF and an Excel model with your seat count, the plans above and a renewal checklist.

Choosing software instead of renewing? See the ranked procurement software list.